top of page
  • Writer's pictureNathaniel

Taking the First Steps

Updated: Jan 4, 2018

God has led me to take the first steps towards becoming a full-time missionary.

Read below to learn what's next for me at Calvary Chapel Montebelluna in Italy!


Ciao!

My name is Nathaniel Hibbs and I am going to Treviso, Italy for three months this summer to intern with Calvary Chapel Montebelluna as an ongoing effort to move towards full-time missions.


Why am I going?

I believe that Jesus gave all Christians the call to make disciples of all nations (Matthew 28:18-20) – whatever country that may be – however, some are called to leave their country to tell others about the love of Jesus and the need for salvation from eternal death caused by our sins. This gift is freely given by Christ through His death, resurrection and victory over sin and the grave. (Isaiah 1:18; Romans 5:8, 10:9, 10:14)


Isaiah 1:18 "'Come now, and let us reason together,' Says the Lord, 'Though your sins are like scarlet, They shall be as white as snow; Though they are red like crimson, They shall be as wool.'"


Is this just a nice opportunity to spend summer vacation in an attractive European country?

No. While Italy is a beautiful country, by no means will this be viewed as a vacation to enjoy an Italian Summer in the name of “the church” or “going on a mission trip.” I am actively taking steps to be a full-time missionary on the field in a foreign country, so this is a vital step in the right direction to getting there. I recently spent a month with Calvary Chapel Bangkok in Thailand to get more experience in this field, and this three month internship will help prepare me for the life and ministry of being a missionary on the international field. I am going to Montebelluna to make the most of my time – not to waste it – and to gain as much experience in this path of life God has put before me.


Matthew 28:18-20 "And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, 'All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.' Amen."


What will I be doing while I am there and what does an internship look like?

I will be going to work with CC Montebelluna on a volunteer basis to assist with construction aspects of the new building they acquired in 2017, as well as serving with the weekly church ministries (which include weekly services, youth group, summer activities, etc.). This may look different each week and truly only God knows what each day will hold before it happens, however this is the main emphasis for this internship. I will not be paid; I am going on the economic support I raise from working my job and from donations of those who want to come alongside the work by financially supporting me.


How can you help at home?

Pray, pray, pray! I will need all the prayer I can get for this internship to transpire the way God would desire it in His will. We fight in a spiritual battle every day, and I will desperately need prayer warriors who want to send God requests on my behalf; before the internship, during the internship and after I come home. I have started this website to post updates for my preparation as well as for during my time in Italy. If you would like to follow along, please subscribe to my email list on this site!


I John 5:14-15 "Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him."


If you feel led after praying for this step of faith I am taking and you would like to financially support me, I would highly treasure and greatly appreciate any donation you would like to make. I am still working out how to take donations, however please contact me if you are interested in supporting me.


Thank you for your time in reading this post! May God bless you as you seek to follow and obey Him.


God bless,

Nathaniel Hibbs

Luke 1:37, I Corinthians 12:5-6

61 views0 comments
bottom of page