top of page
  • Writer's pictureNathaniel

August & September

Here is my August and September photo update!

August

1. Personal Highlights

August is a month where much of the month is lighter in work as it is a time when a lot of vacations happen for staff and Italians in general.


Haircut!

I was in need of a haircut and I like to support Christian brothers or sisters with my business whenever possible. There is a sweet sister, Thamara, in the church in Feltre who is a professional hairstylist who has her own business. I went and got a haircut from her in the heat of summer and the Lord opened the door for me to visit with her husband, Nicola, and their two rambunctious boys.

It was a blessing that I didn’t plan on because I originally just went for a haircut and ended up staying for dinner (typical Italian hospitality there haha) and the night. The next morning, I worked with Nicola on the church building that they have going and then visited for lunch with another local couple from the church. I eventually went back home to Montebelluna that afternoon. The Lord has looked out for me as a single guy opening opportunities to connect with families here and not be so lonely at times.


Ferragosto

In Italy there is a holiday for the Feast of the Assumption of Mary (when she supposedly was taken up into Heaven like Jesus) called Ferragosto. For this day it is a public holiday so people get together and have barbeques and social interactions. I was blessed to have the opportunity to go to a local family’s home where we grilled, swam in their pool, played some soccer and fellowshipped with other believers. It was an enjoyable time with others developing relationships with the families and friends we have here.


Finishing My Pallet-Wood Bed

There was a week when practically all the staff were gone. I had that week to finish my pallet-wood bed and so working long hours for around 5 days, I was able to sand, varnish and assemble my new bed! It is much taller now and it is practical because I was given two sets of drawers to use underneath for my clothes. It has been a God-send because it has helped my back heal from previous problems sleeping on a bad frame and also to help in my organization of my clothes going forward. This may not seem like a big deal but it is a blessing to know that I completed something and that it will help me going forward with my life here in Italy.


Lago di Garda / Garda Lake

Several families organized a venture to the north with this amazing hike and trip to Lago di Garda. While the views and weather were incredible, what was memorable for me was the realization of the family that I have here in Montebelluna. I am a single 27-year old guy, but several families and older parents in the church have welcomed me in and treated me like one of the family.

It was during this trip that the Lord showed me how much He has provided for me with these families and relationships with individuals in the church. It isn’t normal for me to come somewhere and immediately be met with the type of love, support and care that these people have shown – welcoming me into their lives, their homes, their excursions and their hearts. Jesus truly has blessed me in this way and there is nothing I did to deserve it – it is truly a grace of God that He has given me these precious saints and believers to be my friends and church family.



September

1. Building Projects


Soccer Goals!

Adam and Craig and I installed homemade soccer goals! I am very excited about this as it gives another tool to use for different activities here with the church! This has been an encouraging project because of a couple of factors. One, I know God has called me to do sports ministry here. Two, God had spoken to me years before about being a part of making more soccer fields in the future and now it has come to pass in the first field!


2. Bible College

I became the official registrar for Calvary Chapel Bible College.

I have now transitioned into being the registrar to handle all interest requests, academic sign ups and class planning. There are other responsibilities past this but they are in essence admin work, printing for classes and planning for future semesters and circumstances. A specific project that I am proud of is that we have transitioned our applications to be online through Google Forms, instead of a printed PDF that was then emailed back to us and then processed. In this way we have made it more accessible and easier to apply for prospective students.


Fall 2020 began with 6 students!

We have three girls and three guys, with two Italian speakers and four English speakers.


Inductive Bible Study Class

We developed and implemented a new Inductive Bible Study course that is being conducted on Wednesday nights with the church body. We have over 20 individual students who have signed up to do homework, go deeper in their study of the Bible and to grow in their walk with the Lord through this course. I have organized a good portion of the communication and logistical background work for the course. This was a challenge at the beginning but now it is going more smoothly and is encouraging to see church members dig into the Bible more deeply.


3. Personal Highlights

Baptism for Calvary Chapel Montebelluna

This was a blessed time with the church body and many guests for a few church members who were baptized. This included a time of volleyball, luncheon and fellowship. Overall, a great time.


Soccer Goals

The Lord several years ago (2006) took me to Juarez, Mexico on a mission trip to do an English VBS. While there, we cleared an area of a dump pile to become a soccer field for the local kids. We found a scorpion there in the clearing of the field and so we dubbed it, “Scorpion Field.” Back in 2016 or 2017, God had spoken to me that, like Scorpion Field, I would be a part of building more soccer fields in the future. I had written it down in my journal and remembered it through a little token I had from Mexico. I forgot what God had spoken to me until one point in September when I had finished putting the goals into their holes for the first time here in Montebelluna.

Pushing the wheelbarrow back to the building from the field, I heard out of the blue from the Lord, “Scorpion Field” – just those two words. It hit me in that very instant that God had kept His promise that He had given me years prior about soccer fields and my part in them. This was encouraging because God told me I would be a part of building soccer fields in the future and here I was, doing it! I wanted to share this vignette of my ministry life here because I hope it encourages you to remember that which the Lord has spoken to you. He does not let His promises fall flat. He does not disappoint. He does not leave us hanging out to dry on His promises that He has said will come to pass. He is faithful.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Years

bottom of page